prompt: “Suicide.”

“Have You Ever Considered Suicide?”

I’ve fallen in love
with all of life’s
paradoxes. Especially the one
where I am 97 years old
and ready to jump
after knowing each curve of the world
as intimately as my own

– billimarie

This prompt has been in my queue for quite some time. The poem didn’t come to me until a few weeks ago, when I was asked by an extremely apathetic and disengaging medical “professional” whether or not I had ever considered suicide. I think she just wanted a black-or-white answer, which was something I am never willing to give (I hate absolutes).

Because this prompt was given anonymously, I just want to throw out there that if anyone reading this feels like talking, you can always write me a letter or send me an email.

PO Box 3172
Chatsworth, CA 91313
billimarie (dot) r (gmail)